• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing New tig welder advice

6cmShooter

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Dec 12, 2019
Tucson, Arizona
I've been looking at purchasing a new tig welder and have been looking at the everlast tig welders but don't know how well they are. I've always used Miller or lincolns in school and at work but don't have the budget to get one of those. Main use will be to do some pin and welds on a few barrels and some other small projects. Has anyone used an everlast welder or have a suggestion of one that is in the 6-700 dollar range.

That is a very good question... I am a retired welder. When the lower cost welding machines came on the market the contractors bought the less expensive ones and sent them out to the job sites. Our welds were all X-Ray quality pipe welds. Cost / man hours to make repairs soon offset any cost savings. I was chosen many times to go and make repairs on someone else's weld... If there was an old Lincoln SA-400 diesel welder on the job, it became mine to do the repair.

For $700 you can pick up an older TIG machine (Lincoln, Miller) that will run on single phase power and have a foot peddle and the rest of the accessories.

Link is for an old Linde... It was a Cadillac in it's day... Never hurts to make some offers.

Attachments

• Miller 330 AB.JPG
    Miller 330 AB.JPG
    23.7 KB · Views: 48
  • Lincoln TIG.jpg
    Lincoln TIG.jpg
    96.4 KB · Views: 49
If you are only looking for DC Tig for steel and stainless, used Miller Maxstar inverter units are fairly common on Craigslist and Facebook Marketplace. I have seen some of them going for sub $1000 frequently. These units can run on 120/240v and can have an output as low as 5 amps for the really delicate stuff.