• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

New (to me) DiamondBack DB10

BAMAboy18

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 11, 2020
Picked this up 2 weeks ago for $1200 with a Vortex strike eagle 1-8x24 & 2 boxes of ammo.
Shot it last week just to check function. Spent cases were 5-6' at 5:00, under gassed??
I worked on it Saturday, I changed the trigger, furniture and upgraded the rings to a cantilever mount. I cleaned and lubed everything (it was pretty dirty & dry), but when I tried the stand up test, the bolt failed to support the BCG, I guess I need new gas rings? I was told it was only about a year old. Is it possible to wear out rings that soon?
I'm new to the AR platform, so still ignorant, but I am learning. Any advice is much appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_20220621_130620522.jpg
    IMG_20220621_130620522.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 162
Reactions: bfoosh006
Gas rings are cheap, and I need a few extra mags. Only other upgrade will be a muzzle brake, I already have it, just didn't have my wrench the other night. I need to sight in the scope and I'll know then if it improved any.
Thanks guys

.308 BCG won't stand up without falling even with new rings. The weight of the carrier is too much so that test doesn't apply to the large frame rifles. In fact some large frames have been known to function without any rings at all, its not a good idea but it just goes to show that test is invalid.

I like the McFarland one piece rings and I keep a few on hand. Buy some rings and put it in your kit but keep shooting what you have until you start to experience malfunctions.