• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

New to reloading 6cm die set

Thflinn

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Apr 4, 2023
Texas
I’m new to reloading and I’m trying to get a die set ordered. I’ll be reloading 6cm for a new rifle build. Planned on getting Lapua brass since it’s readily available. Looking for advice on a die set that is simple to use but will have room to grow and explore with.

I was looking at the Hornady match die set or the rcbs match master but don’t have brass in hand to measure to get a bushing size. Any advice is helpful as I’m probably making it more complicated than it needs to be.

You will get lots of different points of view. So here goes mine...LOL
When I stared reloading I got Redding bushing 3 die sets for 6.5cm, 308, 300wm and .338lm. I used the 3 die sets for about 4 years or so. For the last 9 ish years I went to FL sizing die on all 12 calibers I load and use a mandrel instead of the ball expander to open the neck. I have never you Hornady dies but people seem to likee them. The only RCBS die I use are AR10,15 small base dies and they work just fine. Here is my load for my 6cm.
Rifle AI-AT
Barrel 26 in Bartlein 1-7 twist
Brass ADG
Primer 210m
Powder H-4350 40.00gr
Bullet 109 Berger Hybrid
AVG FPS 2955
SD 7.3
ES 15.9

Hope this helps

You will get lots of different points of view. So here goes mine...LOL