• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Gunsmithing Newb Question: Cutting Down Barrel

ARbowhunter7

Private
Minuteman
Jan 13, 2010
Cartersville, GA
First let me say that I am an extreme newb to the precision rifle world, so flame me if you must, but try to refrain. Haha.

I was at the range (shooting my POS) and I took notice of the guy next to me. He's a lurker on here, but his rifle was what really caught my attention. It was a sweet setup, Surgeon Action, A-4 stock, Badger DBM and 20 MOA mount, massive Nightforce, etc. All nice stuff, but I've seen it before. His barrel, though, it what got me. It was a professionally finished, threaded, and crowned 17" barrel, cut down by a local 'smith. I have always heard arguments against shorty barrels when considering accuracy but this gun was a laser (by my weak standards). The guy shot a couple 1/2" groups at 100, then streched it out to 600 yards (max at our range) and brought back three targets with sub-6" five shot groups. Is this normal? Or is this gun just a freak? Can you really expect this accuracy out of a setup with a barrel this short?

Re: Newb Question: Cutting Down Barrel

Common misconception re: short barrels.