• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Optolyth spotting scopes any good?

ken226

Major Hide Member
Minuteman
Sep 16, 2009
Washington
I've been shopping for a reticle equipped spotting scope for several years. I finally found the funding and motivation to get one, an bought a Bushnell T series.
I wasn't satisfied with the glass clarity or focus mechanism, so I put it on eBay and recovered most of the price paid, the started shopping again.
I ended up buying an Optolyth from a German ebay seller but am surprised to see that Optolyth seems to be shunned here on Snipershide. I've compared mine side-by-side to some good scopes, and performance is quite good.

In the​​​ Liberty Optics Kowa 55mm thread. Rommel500 indicated that for not much more money I could have got a Spotter 45/60. I've searched for some Hensoldt Spotter 45s and 60s, and am having trouble finding the specific version he's referring to.
every variant I've found is in the $4000.00 + range. That's almost 4X what the Optolyths are selling for from German retailers.

I paid 900.00 for the scope body

ended auction:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/OPTOLYTH-Spo...72.m2749.l2649

and 400.00 for the eyepiece.

ended auction:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Optolyth-Ocu...72.m2749.l2649

Obviously some risk buying from an overseas ebay seller. But, its my money, right!

Besides, both products showed up, as advertised, new in box!

Rommel500 stated that they aren't popular in the US for good reason.
Honestly, I'm seeking information here in the most polite way I can, so help me out, what is the reason?