• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hunting & Fishing painting duck decoys - most common NE PA ducks

TOP PREDATOR

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 19, 2008
SCRANTON AREA PENNSYLVANIA
i've got 2 dz mallard decoys that i've picked up on clearance sales and such.

i'd like to keep 8-10 of them mallards, then paint up the rest to match the types of ducks around my area rather than specifically buying decoys for that type of duck.

if you couldn't tell, i'm a somewhat newbie to duck hunting, i know we have mallards, woodies, black ducks. are there any others that frequent NE PA enough that painting up the rest of the decoys makes sense?

if it does what other ones do you think i should go with?

FYI, i'm mostly interested in geese, but when ducks open, i wouldn't mind switching gears a little when the honkers are slow.

thanks for any tips on this, or if this is just a stupid thing to do.

Just use the Mallards, all species will land in them including divers, I've killed sea ducks offshore with mallard and canvasback decoys. As you get into it more add a 4 pack of teal or Woodducks just to add more confidence. I've killed limits of ducks with 6 decoys just as easy as I have with 300 decoys on long lines, I normally use a dozen mallards now. Painting decoys is very time consuming work, I use to hunt with hand painted E.Allen decoys for years.

Gadwalls are another good choice. Late season in heavily hunted areas, the ducks have see way too many mallard spreads, so something different sometimes looks good to them.
You may want to consider making a jerk rig out of some of them as well.

yeah, i was thinking of a jerk rig, i like the idea of having that movement going.