• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Please explain why some powders are more accurate than others

Chesapeake

N/A
Minuteman
Feb 25, 2018
Montana
I’m fairly new to reloading and would like to conceptually understand why some powders for a given cartridge and bullet combination could be more accurate than another in a rifle.

I understand that powder A might produce a lower standard deviation or extreme spread of velocity than powder B. I also have seen where powder A could still produce noticably worse groups than powder B. What causes one powder to be more accurate for a certain cartridge bullet combo than another?

This is especially confusing for me when discussing powders of relatively similar burn rates.

Any science bombs you can drop on me would be much appreciated.

I also might have missed this being discussed in my search so if there’s a link please send it. Thanks

I’m fairly new to reloading and would like to conceptually understand why some powders for a given cartridge and bullet combination could be more accurate than another in a rifle.

I understand that powder A might produce a lower standard deviation or extreme spread of velocity than powder B. I also have seen where powder A could still produce noticably worse groups than powder B. What causes one powder to be more accurate for a certain cartridge bullet combo than another?

This is especially confusing for me when discussing powders of relatively similar burn rates.

I also might have missed this being discussed in my search so if there’s a link please send it. Thanks