• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Purchasing a suppressor out of state residence

DDGKunia

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Mar 25, 2021
Hawaii
Hey guys, got a odd question. So my wife is active duty military. In the military you can keep your state of residence (aka the state you join in). So I am a Florida state resident (with a Florida driver's license and vehicle plates) but living in North Carolina. So my Florida driver's license has a NC address. How can I buy an NFA item? Every place I talk to says no, and even the silencer shop is stumped. There has to be someone who has had this issue.

Thanks
Jeff

I spoke with a NFA attorney as recommended by silencer shop. Thier reaction was "form a trust or good luck"

would it not be the same as any other firearm purchase?
Not exactly. A rifle doesn’t need a place of residence (not the ATF term, but close enough), like an NFA item. His permanent residence is not his place of residence. His permanent residence is ostensibly where the ATF would expect the suppressor to reside, but it cannot because he doesn’t live there.

It is telling that the NFA lawyer said “good luck, but I don’t want any part of it.”

Buy one at your FL address on a trust, when it comes in, move the trust to NC.

I’m uncertain if there a requirement to keep my suppressor in a location that ATFE expects it to reside. Can someone show me in the CFR?

Buy one at your FL address on a trust, when it comes in, move the trust to NC.

I’m uncertain if there a requirement to keep my suppressor in a location that ATFE expects it to reside. Can someone show me in the CFR?