• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Quandary. Forster backorder plus… bushing or non-bushing FL sizing die before using Sinclair expander die?

EnjoyTheWilderness

Private
Minuteman
Sep 21, 2018
First, I am new to handloading. So new that outside of helping my Dad measure powder 30+ years ago, I have not done ANY handloading yet. But I have been reading forums and watching videos like mad (think I have a good handle on the theory) and have purchased nearly everything I need. At the moment my hold up is that the Forster FL sizing die and micrometer seating die I planned to use have been on backorder (not with Forster directly, but via a large online dealer) for weeks with no idea when they may show up. I have been on the Forster backorder waiting game previously while waiting on go/no-go gauges. I like their products, but hate that it always seems to be on backorder.

I am now considering moving to Redding dies (for both sizing and seating) as those seem to be in stock and seem to be as good or better than Forster (I know that die manufacture selection can be a Ford vs. Chevy thing). This is all for a 6.5 Creedmoor in a large frame AR gas gun for future PRS style shooting.

My planned process (from a die perspective) is…

1. Decapping (Lee)
2. Full length sizing (Forster/Redding with decapping pin/neck sizing ball removed)
3. Neck sizing/tension (Sinclair expander with 0.002 under bullet diameter mandrel)
4. Seating (Forster/Redding Micrometer)