• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Quickload (or chrono?) way off for 300 win mag or H1000

nuclear_shooter

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 28, 2013
So, just got Quickload and plugged my current 300 win mag load it to compare. Measured my case capacity right at 93.2 gr H2O , OAL 3.620", 26" barrel, 208gr AMAX, 74 gr H1000, and it underestimated what i chrono'd by almost 200 fps. My friend ran his 338 LM load though and it matched up exactly. I've shot out to 1000ish yards with it, and the dope matched up fairly good, if anything I shot high. Load chronos right around 2810 at the muzzle. As stated, this is my first time with Quickload, so maybe I just missed something obvious. Any suggestions?

Last edited:
Quickload is an estimated guess, chrono is going to be much more accurate. It's as well very difficult for someone to figure out what the issues was not looking at your input data vs shooting conditions. Trying to chase quickload accuracy vs the actual MV is a loosing battle. Examples: a function of MV is ambient temp or sheering friction and a million other variables. If you want to chase that tail by all means do so but I don't recommend it.

With Quickload to get accurate data you need a chronograph, then you need to change the powder burn rate until Quickload velocities match your chronograph velosities. Until you do this everything that Quickload spits out is just a guesstimate, I also understand that even after doing this there is no guarantee the chamber pressure readings will be correct.