• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Re-Re-Reusing Brass...How do you know when to quit

Lucks

Team Roberts Precision
Supporter
Minuteman
Jul 16, 2009
Central Texas
I'm new to reloading and was wondering about something. I hear that you can reload brass more than once...and the "good" brass like Lapua you can reload up to 10 times.

Do I need to be keeping up with how many times I reload a case, and make sure to not exceed a certain number of times?
Or...
Do you just inspect the brass to determine if its played out... and if so, what am I looking for?

Thanks!

Re: Re-Re-Reusing Brass...How do you know when to quit

Lapua brass can be loaded many times, one just has to watch for case coloring disappearing and re-anneal the necks.When the neck shows cracks or accuracy falls way off, throw it away.
I have had FGMM cases that have lasted four reloadings,it seems to make a good bit of difference on how tight your chamber is.
If the empty case will still chamber and the necks show no cracks, they should be good to go. YMMV.

A log or some kind of record keeping system is very important and you should inspect the cases between each load. As to how many times a brass can be reloaded depends on many things: type of weapon used, type of brass, some calibers are harder on brass then others and so on. There is some things you can do such as annealing your brass to prolong replacing it.

Use this:
http://www.google.com/coop/cse?cx=010955838166721108978:qcbx5qqy10o&hl=en
A lot of info on this can be found........hope this helps.

this is a question that has been asked here in the past....