• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading beginner

KillShot

Major Hide Member
Minuteman
May 25, 2010
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Well, I've finally become disgusted enough with ammo prices that I'm gonna start rolling my own .308 ammo. I didn't mind buying when SWAmmo was selling it for $21.99/box but now that it's up near $30/box...I'd rather roll my own.

I've read the reviews on the following items and they are positive. I realize I can get the Lee reloading kit for $150 but from everything I've read, the Lee classic press is a better press than the one that comes with the kit.

This is the list I've come up with and remember, I'm a beginner at this so feel free to critique as you see fit.

Thanks for your time.

Amazon.com: Lee Precision Classic Cast Press (Red): Sports & Outdoors

Amazon.com: Lee Precision 90058 Perfect Powder Measurer (Red): Sports & Outdoors

Amazon.com: RCBS Hand Priming Tool: Sports & Outdoors

Amazon.com: Lee Precision Pacesetter .308 Dies (Red): Sports & Outdoors

Amazon.com: Lee Precision 308 Win Gauge/Holder: Sports & Outdoors

I will take a chance and respond. Are you reloading precision ammo or just general 308 rounds?
If just general you will be fine with what you have picked out. I am not a big fan of the Lee primer tool. Hornady ' s is much nicer and easier to use.
There are nicer presses for the money.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

For precision 308 I recommend a Forster Co-Ax single-stage. As for priming tool I use the RCBS Universal Hand Priming Tool; works for .380acp all the way up to 338LM.

+1 on that. Also I love the redding seating dies for precision.

I ordered a sweet jewelry scale on amazon for powder measurement that was $123 bucks. It measures to the grain!