RRS Kilo Mount

The King

Back to the Range
Full Member
Minuteman
  • Sep 17, 2004
    2,723
    4,332
    RRS did something with their KILO mount I greatly appreciate. It has a HARD lock on the Kilo, and can be used for an adapter to a click adjustment mechanism that will hold zero. Or at least as far as the kilo-mechanism interface. It isn't a slip fit like the factory mount is.
     

    96C

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Aug 9, 2007
    1,076
    1,361
    Aust
    Solid, thanks mate... Will get one on the way.
     

    mrtoyz

    Armchair Commando
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 11, 2009
    1,126
    589
    Western WA
    Interested. This looks to have a clamp design as opposed to a slip design like the factory mount. How is this a marked improvement? What will it do for me?
     

    The King

    Back to the Range
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Sep 17, 2004
    2,723
    4,332
    1. Directly mounts into an arca type clamp. No plate needed.
    2. Small enough to stay mounted and fit the sig case
    3. Hard clamp instead of slip fit. Valuable in my use Case as I use an Elcan mount for the base and click it onto the spotter reticle.
    4. Cheaper than the LRi
    5. Excellent build quality
    6. Will take a manfrotto plate.
     

    mrtoyz

    Armchair Commando
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Jul 11, 2009
    1,126
    589
    Western WA
    Thanks King. Have any pics of it setup like you mentioned?

    Also looks to have smoother edges
     

    dgheriani

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Feb 10, 2017
    667
    376
    1. Directly mounts into an arca type clamp. No plate needed.
    2. Small enough to stay mounted and fit the sig case
    3. Hard clamp instead of slip fit. Valuable in my use Case as I use an Elcan mount for the base and click it onto the spotter reticle.
    4. Cheaper than the LRi
    5. Excellent build quality
    6. Will take a manfrotto plate.
    Where did you get your Elcan mount?
     

    The King

    Back to the Range
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Sep 17, 2004
    2,723
    4,332
    Simple piece of 1/8” thick 1” alum box. Threaded m5-0.8 to take the screws from the elcan mount. Two holes, 1 Big 1 little to put a 1/4-20 hex head screw in the mount.

    Zero at 1km and the offset at 2km will match the opposite side offset. So the beam is 3” high and 3” left at the laser and 3x3” right at 2km. Easy to live with.

    0ECA9EE7-8860-4841-8F3B-CBE058BEDEB5.jpeg
     

    dgheriani

    Private
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Feb 10, 2017
    667
    376
    Simple piece of 1/8” thick 1” alum box. Threaded m5-0.8 to take the screws from the elcan mount. Two holes, 1 Big 1 little to put a 1/4-20 hex head screw in the mount.

    Zero at 1km and the offset at 2km will match the opposite side offset. So the beam is 3” high and 3” left at the laser and 3x3” right at 2km. Easy to live with.

    View attachment 6870686

    That's a sweet setup! What I meant though was where did you source the actual Elcan mount?
     

    The King

    Back to the Range
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Sep 17, 2004
    2,723
    4,332
    I’ll get a pic later this week when I’m at the range
     

    The King

    Back to the Range
    Full Member
    Minuteman
  • Sep 17, 2004
    2,723
    4,332
    Pics
     

    Attachments

    • CE96C293-4378-4F17-A2B9-B1F163032BF2.jpeg
      CE96C293-4378-4F17-A2B9-B1F163032BF2.jpeg
      421.8 KB · Views: 51
    • 33AE3895-2E94-4E27-8FD3-64C53C6B53B3.jpeg
      33AE3895-2E94-4E27-8FD3-64C53C6B53B3.jpeg
      431.1 KB · Views: 44
    • Like
    Reactions: MilDot1960

    MilDot1960

    Sergeant
    Full Member
    Minuteman
    Apr 26, 2013
    1,388
    125
    Cool, I like how compact it all goes together, thanks for posting it.

    John.