• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Scope advice needed

YankeeTexan

Private
Minuteman
Jul 17, 2023
Central Texas
I'm new to hunting and to LR shooting and I'm looking for some advice on what scope to get. What I want to do is hunt within 300 yards and ring steel up to 1000 with my recently ordered Tikka Veil left-hand in .308 WIN. These are my assumptions:

- Magnification should be in the 3-18 to 5-25 range. I'm thinking keep the low end low enough to hunt with. I currently hunt hogs with a Razor 1-6 LPVO on an AR, so my hunch is that 6-36 or similar scopes would be overkill.
- 34mm maintube because of .308's drop at 800 yards or more.
- mrad reticle / turrets since I'm starting out fresh. More than one person and Ryan Cleckner's book suggested doing this.
- Durability and repeatability is more important (to me at least) than absolute glass clarity.
- My budget is ~$3000 at the high end, but I'm considering stuff like the Razor LHT scopes on up to the Kahles 3-18.

Edit: No back country hunting anticpated in the near future and the short distances carrying a somewhat heavier optic is no big deal. Also, any reticle recommendations welcome.

Any constructive criticism on these assumptions or advice on scope makes / models would be most appreciated.

Last edited:
Reactions: Alcanino
At <300 yards I would not go FFP. They are not made for short range hunting. You are going to absolutely hate the tiny and unusable reticle on low power. Get a second focal plane scope and I would not go for more than X18, but even that is very excessive.