• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes Scope for RPR in 6.5 (Zeiss Conquest HD5 5-25x50, Vortex Viper 6.5-20x50 PA, or ???)

jmclean

Private
Minuteman
Oct 11, 2017
I posted this in the bolt action section, but I'm not sure if maybe it should be here instead? If not please feel free to delete this thread...

I'm fairly new to long range shooting and am still working up to 1000 yards (unfortunately not many ranges near me go out that far). I picked up a Ruger Precision Rifle in 6.5 creedmore about 2 months ago and currently own two scopes that aren't bad, but I'm not sure if I should go with one of them for now or see if I can sell or trade for something that would work better?

Currently have:
Zeiss Conquest HD5 5-25x50
Vortex Viper 6.5-20x50 PA

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Also, I'm in Tallahassee, FL and haven't found many people locally into long range shooting so if there are any good resources to help me learn please let me know. I've been shooting out to about 300 or 400 yards since I was a kid in the Boy Scouts, and am really enjoying going (well) beyond that.

I am a HUGE fan of the Zeiss HD5s, but IMO they're very hunting-oriented in their reticle designs, capped turrets, and limited elevation travel. So, I guess with that being said, it really depends on whether or not you are going to spend a lot of time shooting at a given distance, or if you intend to move from one distance to another and adjusting the scope to compensate.