• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Short throat fix?

Rjt2828

Private
Minuteman
Oct 31, 2020
Redlands California
I'm so sorry to be that guy who joins a forum just for help but I'm in pretty rough shape with a new rifle... I have a lot of experience with hunting rifles, hand loading for them, and shoot steel with them for practice at 700 yards each year. Simply because it's kinda the limit with the ranch I get to practice at. In fact I do not let myself go to Montana or Kodiak until I have my load and my form down well enough to be sub moa at 500. Sure you guys see people say things like that all the time, but I can't really give you my bonafides any other way...

I played with a browning x bolt varmint target a few months ago. The owner had put it in a boyds stock and was getting ridiculously good accuracy with it. I bought my own in 6.5 creed and man I don't think I'll ever buy factory again.

Mine Is in mcmillan a3-5, vortex viper pst... Guess the point is the setup isn't the cause of my woes. When I first started shooting with it this month it had serious issues with flyers, pressure signs at weak powder charges, a ruptured case... the bolt was stiff but I figured it was just breaking in, out something. I've had me actions that loosened up over time. It closes and ejects fine with an empty case though, so I knew there was something wrong after that test.