• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Show us your data book pages!

Racer88

Firearms Pedant
Minuteman
  • Nov 10, 2018
    I'm not a total noob to precision shooting, but I'm evolving down this rabbit hole. :) And, I'm glad to have found this forum!

I've learned that I "must have" a data book, if I'm to improve as a shooter.

I recently bought a Impact Data Books book. It's a very nice bit of kit! I custom-ordered the "modular" book. I like that IDB offers such a variety of target pages, including my favorite types of targets. IDB's website is also well-organized and easy to use / place orders.

I watched the IDB video. Last weekend I went out to "christen" my data book. The range was 200 yards, so not very far.

It wasn't my best day of shooting, really. RPR 6.5CM with Hornady Black 140-gr. I don't know if it was me or the ammo. The Hornady Black has performed very well for me in the past for closer range practice "on the cheap." Maybe this lot was different? Maybe I just wasn't on today. But, in some ways, it made it easier to plot my shots in the data book. (ETA: I discovered my bipod mount was LOOSE after the shooting session. So, THAT'S my excuse!
    grinning.gif
    )

Data book on the firing line:
    (love the bungee-cord page tie-downs to prevent them blowing in the wind... or getting flipped by the muzzle blast from the .338-Lapua with a muzzle brake that was in the lane RIGHT next to me!)

Data-book-on-firing-line-1.jpg