• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

sig 716 patrol brass shavings everywhere

Jodirt

Private
Minuteman
Jul 10, 2014
I am new to the "ar platform" and having problems.
My sig 716 is filling up with brass shavings behind the ejection claw, inside the bolt around the firing pin and in the chamber area.
The brass is deforming into the ejector button hole then shears off when the bolt rotates leaving little bits of brass everywhere.
I have had this problem with federal ball ammo, pmc, fiocchi, federal premium, nosler custom.
It does not matter if it's 7.62 nato rounds or 308 hunting rounds or reloads.
I have talked with the manufacturer and been told that this is normal case wear for a piston gun.
having limited experience with the "ar style operating systems" I figure it can't hurt to ask for your opinions, is this a normal thing for all piston guns ?

pic of some brass

I am new to the "ar platform" and having problems.
My sig 716 is filling up with brass shavings behind the ejection claw, inside the bolt around the firing pin and in the chamber area.
The brass is deforming into the ejector button hole then shears off when the bolt rotates leaving little bits of brass everywhere.
I have had this problem with federal ball ammo, pmc, fiocchi, federal premium, nosler custom.
It does not matter if it's 7.62 nato rounds or 308 hunting rounds or reloads.
I have talked with the manufacturer and been told that this is normal case wear for a piston gun.