• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

sight advice needed

Distance shooter

Minuteman
Oct 13, 2009
California
To start off, I am new to AR15 rifles, so I do not have any experience with them or what type of sights would be best suited to use.I mainly shoot and compete in long range shooting, but I decided to get a Daniel Defense rifle with a 7 twist ,16" barrel, before the communist state I live in passes new legistlation restricting more of my rights. I will be using the rifle to mainly shoot steel from 50-400 yards in the desert and was wandering what type of sight system works best for that purpose. I was wandering if an acog scope, or 1-4 or 1-6 power scope would be best suited. Would a red dot system work, or are they for close quarters only? Thank you in advance and any input is appreciated. On a different note, what type of dies would you recommend for reloading, bushing or non bushing? I also read that some people use small base dies.

DS.

I'm not an enormous ACOG fan on an AR unless it's the models with the 3.5MOA RMR on top (I hope I remember the dot size) simply because the 4x magnification isn't what I want up close, BUT if you're doing mostly static type shooting and not a ton of run and gun at varying ranges from VERY close to the distances mentioned it's not a bad option.