• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Slugs through a Benelli M4 - factory modified choke? Sabot or rifled?

JelloStorm

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 23, 2010
Northeast Pennsylvania
I have a stock Benelli M4 fixed stock I just picked up and have a box of Hornady SST sabot slugs and was wondering if I'd need to swap out the modified factory choke to a cylinder for it to shoot slugs as well as buck shot? Do you have to use a cylinder or will a modified be okay? Not trying to grenade my new gun.

If I need to swap to a cylinder choke so be it, but the barrel isn't rifled so going forward I should probably switch to rifled SST slugs instead of sabots, correct?

Thanks for the help!

I've no experience with sabot slugs. But i shot a lot of Brenneke and Winchester Super X Slugs in a 14" M4 with the modified choke installed without issues and surprisingly (to me at least, not a lot of time on shotguns) good accuracy.

Straight from their CS: Benelli recommends improved cylinder or cylinder.

With the factory modified choke have ran both types of slugs hitting full IPSC at 100 yards was a chip shot. Hundreds of rounds of 00, Have not had any issues to date.

My Benelli hates slugs. Shoots about a 3' group at 50 yards with everything I've tried.

I've only tried cylinder and improved cylinder.

You may find you need a rifled barrel for decent accuracy.

Reactions: wh20crazy
I typically use the cheapest slugs I can find which are not rifled usually. The Walmart green box Remingtons work great for me.

Brenneke slugs were very accurate for me in the shorty M4. Easy hits on steel silhouettes up to 100m. Regular Winchester slugs did ok but not as accurate.