• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Small and Large Primer 45ACP Brass

Silverbullet2

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 20, 2009
Near Seattle, Wa.
Guys,

I have been shooting 45ACP for many years, and handloading about the same. I use a Dillon 650. I am getting low on the shelf for my 45ACP ammo, so setting up to do some loading. I have Winchester, Federal, PMC and RP brass all separated by head stamps. I have picked up a few CCI and Blazer along the way, and knew about the Blazer Brass small primer issue, but while tumbling my Federal brass, I came across one that had a small primer. I had no idea that Federal had used small primers! Is there any other brass I should be looking for that uses small primers? Thanks, J

CCI makes a brass case in the blazer serie with a small primer, those and federal are the only two, make sure they are not mixed up with the large primer case while you load them up, it will likely detonate the primer. It happened to me, that is pretty loud.
Cheers.

According to Dillon Precision ("There are several manufacturers who make small-pistol primed 45ACP ammo. All 45ACP ammo loaded with lead-free primers have small primer pockets, as lead-free primers are not made in large size. At least two manufacturers use small primer pocketed brass for other loads as well.") and reports elsewhere on the web . . . there are several manufacturers that make small pistol primer 45ACP.

So check them all please.

Easiest way on the eyes is to select a drill bit that will fit in a LP pocket but not in a SP pocket. If you can successfully keep the brass segregated, you should only have to check brass once.