• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Strategies for choice of scope/optic zeroing range

RobertM

Private
Minuteman
Jun 5, 2011
Hawaii
Great reading through all the knowledge here in SH about scopes. Did a search but did not find a direct answer to my question.

I was trained on iron sighted M-14s almost 50 years ago. The doctrine then was a battle sight setting of 300 yds/meters. For better or worse, I still think that way.

Did a search with no definitive answer to my questions.

I am new to scope and holo sights, and intrigued as to what modern thinking is as to what "battle sight" range to zero the scope or optic to.

My take from what I read is most zero scopes to 100yds/m and dial in range corrections from there. Are there other range schemes, or is that pretty much the state of the art for tactical sight setting? I read some scopes have BCD type reticules for indicating holdover with no elevation turret changes. Might guess that would vary in usefulness with what round was in use, and inherent flatness of trajectory.

Same question for red dot holo type sights, though elevation cranking obviously cannot be done. I gather the quality sights will have elevation ques in the display for holdover. Most civilian stuff does not, seemingly binding them to less than 300m engagements?

No real experience with scopes or holo, so am wide open to thoughts on best deployment for both. My 60+ eyes are not up to iron sights so much these days, so I am bowing to the inevitable use of optics of some sort.

Re: Strategies for choice of scope/optic zeroing range