• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

To build, or not to build?

ZLBubba

Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
Jan 15, 2009
Maryland
I'm fairly new to precision rifle shooting, though I've got a lot of experience shooting and hunting in field (and military) environments. I have been thinking about buying an expensive precision rig but I realize, after reading many posts about both formal training and practice, that I should focus on walking before running. Lowlight talked about not recommending anything other than a 308 for the RO courses because of how many rounds it takes to practice and hone one's skill. Makes perfect sense to me.

The question is, should I build my own 308 or should I have it built for me while I'm deployed? I am positive that any custom rig I have built will shoot better than anything I can put together, but I'm also fairly sure that a custom gun will shoot better than I'm capable. I've shot tens of thousands of 7.62 in my time, but that was mostly through a M240B and not a bolt gun. I don't mind having a .75MOA gun since I'm starting out.

By my math, building a fairly solid 308 bolt gun will put me within a few hundred of a low end custom gun. E-5 pay only stretches so far, but if I'm that close to getting a custom rig, why not just throw down the extra cash and get something good?

These are the bare minimums for the rig I was thinking of:
1. Remington 700 short action, 308 caliber
2. McMillan or Manners stock
3. Detachable Badger magazine
4. Rail system for scope
5. Harris bipod
6. Fully bedded stock
7. Custom barrel, 1/11:25 twist

How much could I build this gun for myself? I'll have a gunsmith do the bedding and barrel work, and tune the Remington trigger.