• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Too much jump/pressure 300 WSM

Crgchck

Building America
Supporter
Minuteman
Jul 20, 2014
ALABAMA..roll tide MFR
I’m not a reloading expert and only load for accuracy don’t give (2) shits about speed.
I load to the length my rifle likes and then learn dope of the load by shooting.
I do use a book/net for charge parameter..
I’ve been recently questioned on a rifle of mine. Logic vs what the rifle is telling me, makes me question an issue I have.
.300 WSM factory ammo showing signs of pressure. All factory ammo.
Starting my elementary reloading process, I see that my round is unusually long. Again I don’t really care about specs nor sammi.. so I run that length and play with charge… starting in the middle of charge parameters and reaching max.. find where I want to be.. and load away..
Heres what logic makes weird.
Factory ammo is a MFR to extract. The primers of some have fallen out; most are flat and I’m actually getting a pimple on the brass from ejector pin hole.
Hand loads: Loading to just shy of lands and with pretty heavy charge, I’m not seeing any pressure signs.
The only problem with that is the only rounds I can load with suitable accuracy that will go into any short action mag box is the lapua mega.
In my small brain, it seems jamming to the lands or being closer would cause more pressure than having a lot of jump..
if it were a hand load with a heavy charge and the bullet was eating case capacity I could see it but we are talking factory loads..
What am I missing?
This is more of a curiosity as I’ve settled on using the Mega’s as hunting rounds and utilize the rifle as a single shot while loading longer bullets for shooting paper.

Last edited: