• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tripod Users, Question?

cookietheswede

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 4, 2010
Southgate, KY
Researching in to getting a tripod.

Has any one done any testing on what works better. A saddle with "free" recoil or one that is clamped in?

I was thinking that free recoil would be more accurate. Being that most bench rests are that way. But I have very little experience with tripods, so just a uneducated guess.
crazy.gif

Re: Tripod Users, Question?

I'm running a Manfrotto 055XPROB with the PRS saddle. If you have the extra $$$ the Hog Saddle is a nice piece of equipment and you can't go wrong there either. I see a lot of guys using Slik tripods with zero issues and the Larue QD tripod adapter as well. I went with the Manfrotto though because it's built like a tank, and I seem to break shit a lot. The one downside though is I didn't have the $$$ for the carbon fiber model and it's heavy.

Have both, but prefer the saddle - the HOG saddle absolutely rocks. If you are interested in a solid rail clamp system the Botach Tactical Shooting Platform system is incredibly robust...just quite heavy, but would suggest you look at that system also (they have picatinny and clamp versions, but the HOG saddle clamp is preferable IMO).

Buy the Manfrotto.

Wait and get the carbon fiber model, like Broker said the aluminum version is heavy. I started with the aluminum and now have the carbon fiber, i would start with cf if doing it over again. The manfrotto handles recoil like a champ. I have shot 300WM off the manfrotto aluminum and carbon fiber with zero issues. 100% confidence in the tripod.