• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Unertl USMC Sniper Scope SN 5001 and Introduction

ColeSlawter

Private
Minuteman
Aug 13, 2021
San Diego
Hi Everyone,

I have gathered a lot of information about precision shooting over the years from this site, and finally joined today. I was an enlisted US Marine from 2002-2007, and used the GI Bill to attend college. I now work in the biotech industry in Souther California, and enjoy regularly going to the range with my wife where we shoot everything from handguns and carbines to my long range rifles up to 338 Lapua (Desert Tech).

Although I was not a sniper, I always found their equipment and operations interesting, I think it was my interest in precision equipment and shooting. Every since I read Marine Sniper in middle school, I was fascinated by the Unertl scopes. I actually called Unertl Optics to see if I could buy one, this must have been late 90's and I believe it was his John Unertl's wife who said they didn't sell them to the public (not that I could have afforded one if they did). Whoever I spoke with was kind enough to mail me some catalogs which were just paper copies of their available scopes. I always thought part of the allure of the scope was the fact that you couldn't purchase them.

I've been keeping an eye on the CMP Unertl Scopes for a long time now, and had decided I wanted an original (non US Optics Modification) 50 Caliber Scope. They have not come up recently at the auctions, but when I saw SN 5001, I went for it. Besides the modified 30 Caliber to 50 Caliber conversions, I believe this would be the first scope in the series, since the 30 Cal Scopes started at 1001, can we assume 50 cal started at 5001. Can anyone confirm?

da7fd4cf2D33772D4b132D88542D3874413352bb000.jpeg