• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes UPDATE Bought some optics: Pistol shooter, new to LR need multi-use scope

rmantoo

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
Aug 31, 2014
I'm 51, and have been a USPSA, IDPA and IPSC competitor for 20+ years. I've been shooting 3-gun and run & gun type events for +-15 years. I roll my own in every caliber I shoot. Dillon 1050 w/markvii for high volume, and multiple single stages, turrets, and a manual 1050 for low volume.

I live and mostly (90% of the time) shoot in San Angelo, Tx, elevation ~1,800'. Once or twice a year I go to the NRA Whittington center in Raton, NM @ about ~6000'. I routinely travel around west Texas shooting 3gun matches, but elevation is pretty much ~800-2200' .

I currently rock a vortex 1-6x viper moa. I routinely move it from one rifle to another, mostly 224, 223, and 223 wylde ar15s. I'm comfortable with it out to 600 yards. I normally zero in 3-4 shots at 200yds

I have ZERO experience with shooting scopes higher than 9x (as in, 3-9x cheap tascos and burris).

I've been shooting my Seekins AR10 in 6.5 cm w/ 22" barrel with the same Vortex 1-6x and an old burris 3-9x @ 750-1000 yards and after shooting another guys Vortex Viper 6-24x it is unsatisfying, to say the least.

I want to shoot 750-1000 yards for fun, and intend to try a few PRS style matches- but I will be shooting the same rifle at ranges of 100-1000 -whether I stick with that type of shooting has yet to be determined- If I end up enjoying it, I'm likely to buy a bolt gun, again in 6.5cm- or maybe a used rifle in one of the other 6.5 chambers- at that point I would buy a dedicated optic for that rifle.