• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What is good magnification range for range spotting scope?

LostInTranslation

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jul 16, 2020
First of all - thank you everyone who has responded to my other question about angled vs straight spotting scope - quite useful.

My next question is about magnification range. Few facts
  • I am new to this sport. So far I've been shooting 200 yards (and see 100-200 yards as dominant in my practice) but this summer I intend to go to longish (up to 1000 yard) range (which is unfortunately few Horus away - so can only go so often) and we'll see what I can get to
  • I have 6.5CM Tikka w/ 5-25 Strike Eagle scope. Obviously I am the weakest link...
  • I also shoot 22lr (one high power scoped and other open sights)
Originally I thought 20-60 range would serve me well but I am a bit apprehensive of size of the scopes... While I don't need to hike with the scope (range only) it is still quite a handful. So I am wondering if 15-45 or other shorter range will do.

I've been using splatter targets and can see quite clearly through my rifle scope - but I think once I shoot standard targets/paper it will get harder...

Also since I have 25x scope on my rifle - my thinking is that that I need something significantly higher in spotting scope to make it worthwhile...

Some thoughts
  • Buy 20-60 scope which is an overkill for now but can serve today/future needs
  • Buy shorter range scope (which range?) and if I am blessed to shoot ranges where I need it - then get higher power scope
Would appreciate your thoughts...

The more, the better. You may not be able to use the high end due to mirage or other factors....but better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.