• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

What Percentile of Shooters Can Shoot 1 MOA?

Airik Farley

Private
Minuteman
Mar 27, 2024
US
I'm new to shooting and certainly can't shoot anything close to sub MOA but I hope to someday (with lots of range time). It seems that most modern equipment can easily achieve this so it's really a measurement of the shooters capabilities right? That got me thinking though what percent of people can constantly shot sub MOA at 100 yards?

Reactions: Gon06
Depends,

Prone, across the course, positional, etc...

Most people are not 1 MOA shooters beyond a few cherry picked groups off a bench or prone, normal you see between 1.25" and 3", and you go even further to a Kraft Drill the average person shoots 3MOA to 4MOA

But group shooting is a lesson in frustration, we are not group shooting people here, that is F Class and Benchrest, they shoot subMOA or go home embarrassed.

Once you learn a thing or two, SubMOA is easier

I can't speak for the percentile of shooters that can consistently shoot a rifle into a sub MOA group in optimal conditions, with optimal equipment, with optimal loads. Spend any time at a public range and it will change your opinion on the best distance for deer hunting. My PRS will consistently print a .5 MOA group which is far and beyond what PRS requires. Take an average shooter who doesn't train for precision, and they will print a 1-3 inch group with the same rifle.

Maybe the question has to framed up a little.

Can I shoot a 1 inch group at 100 yards?… Absolutely. Many here can and do with ease.

Can I Clean 1 MOA steel targets, every hundred yards from 300 to 1000? That’s a little harder…