• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Where to start? Looking for gear recommendations.

WhyGuy

I want to learn all the things. ALL of them.
Minuteman
Nov 30, 2021
NC
This site was recommended to me as the best place to go for good info, so here I am, throwing myself upon the mercy of the almighty snipers.
I have been telling myself to load my own rounds for about 10 years, and buying a 6.5CM bolt gun has finally pushed me to do so. With that said, what would you fine gentlemen recommend for a budget friendly set of gear? For now, I'm perfectly happy to spend a good amount of time on each round. I'm also open to any general beginner tips you may have, but mainly interested in gear tips, seeing as I'm sure that I can find good literature on actually loading to avoid bothering you guys too much. I want the cheapest manual gear I can that will allow me to be confident in the resulting product.
I enjoy reading articles and such, and wouldn't mind some literature recommendations either.

But a Lyman manual and a RCBS kit shellholders and die set and go thats how i started

Reactions: WhyGuy
The cheapest you can go with a quality press is a single stage. The RCBS Rock Chucker is highly regarded. While not cheap, it's not expensive and is a sturdy press.

Any of a number of FL sizing and seating dies will work. As @Cr1775 mentions, RCBS makes quality stuff that won't break the bank. Get a bushing FL seating die and the associated bushings. You can ask folks what bushing sizes they use with the brass you plan to use - get a few of them - maybe up and down a size.

I prefer to hand prime and use the 21st Century hand primer.

Reactions: WhyGuy
Maybe don't go my route...