• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Which Attachment?

akmtnrunner

Private
Minuteman
Sep 2, 2020
I am looking to buy my first suppressor. It will go on a bolt 308 for supersonic and if I can get a good load, subsonic too. The can will probably spend most of its life on the rifle, and when it's not, I would prefer to just have a thread protector there as I am not a fan of brakes. I am thinking direct thread, but as I am still a novice on this subject, are there still any reasons to have a quick detach system?

For me, my bolt guns are direct thread, my semiauto's are QD. No particular reason, other than I will almost always shoot my bolt guns with a can, and I may not with my ARs. So I have thread protectors on my bolt guns.

Reactions: akmtnrunner
There's a few good reasons to use an attachment device over direct thread. I'm sure there's more than I will mention here, but off top of my head the two most obvious to me are:

First, that a well designed taper mount device won't back off or come loose like a direct thread is prone to do. The taper mount device also acts as a thread protector while the can is not installed on the rifle. Also the threads on the device are generally a lot more user friendly to put on and take off and are more difficult to cross thread or other wise bugger up.

Second, the device, in most configurations acts as a sacrificial baffle that takes the brunt of the erosion that would normally be eating at your blast baffle. If you're big into taking care of your things and not spending extra money on tax stamps that's a good bonus.