• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Why are Semi's not as forgiving as Bolt's?

Cag40Navy

Private
Minuteman
Nov 7, 2013
Howdy, im really new to the whole concept of "forgiveness" when it comes to long range, accuracy shooting. I have been reading and this seems to be the norm... I love bolts but I don't understand why bolts are more "forgiving" and Semi's are a pain to learn on. Would you guys please educate me as to why this is the case and how the learning curve is different? Thank you in advance!

I use the same techniques for both and have for tens of thousands of rounds through both. Never seen a difference. You're pulling a trigger and following through. People will always look for ways to justify poor marksmanship though.

I use the same techniques for both and have for tens of thousands of rounds through both. Never seen a difference. You're pulling a trigger and following through. People will always look for ways to justify poor marksmanship though.

Not quite. A semi is harder to shoot because it exposes flaws in your fundamentals. There are 3 distinct recoil pulses with a semi versus the single pulse with a bolt gun.

There's a lot more moving parts in semi's, to be obvious, which equate to more vibrations. If a shooter's basic firing fundamentals are sloppy then the groups fired from a semi will not be as tight as they would normally be being shot from a bolt action. It's essentially all down to vibrations.