• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Why clean your brass??

Steve1

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 31, 2014
Montana
I know most people who reload, a lot, tumble or clean their brass. I've been reloading since the 60's and have never had any problems using so called dirty brass. I know I'm no expert by any means, so please enlighten me on this. I do wipe my brass with resizing lube, and wipe them again after resizing. I still can shoot tiny groups consistently. Is there a good reason to have shiny clean brass? I know it's not smart to have crud on the outside of your brass when you go to chamber or resize it. It might also affect pressures if cases have varying amounts of crud on the inside.

Most of you do a lot more shooting than I do. I'd appreciate your advice on this. Maybe I do need to buy a tumbler.....

Shiny? No. Clean? Yes. Doesn't matter how it gets clean. A tumbler is a lot less work.

I picked up a Rebel 17 tumbler earlier this year. It cleans perfectly. I used to just reload 9mm/45 and 357 mag Range-pick -up - dirty on my progressive. Now its alot smoother all the way around. I guess its the clean brass making it smoother... its the only thing I changed.

It worked for me.

Matt

I have been reloading for over 46 years and always prefered bolt action rifles and revolvers. In the last six years my two sons have influenced the type firearms I have recently purchaced. Meaning I now have firearms that throw perfectly good brass away and make you go look for it.