• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Why use a chronograph if I’m going to true anyway?

Little_Fish

Private
Minuteman
Mar 1, 2022
Hudson Valley, NY
I’m still learning my way through getting my inputs squared away knowing how each factor affects the others.

Aside from load development and getting data on a load’s SD, what ultimate purpose does a chronograph serve if I always true the MV in my kestrel to reality?

For example, I went to the range this weekend. I’m shooting factory loads, 6.5CM shooting a 140 ELD-M. My chrono gives an average of 2710 fps and my kestrel gave the solution of 8.55 MILs at 960 yards. However reality called for needing only ~8.4 MILs so the kestrel MV calculator changed the MV to 2747.

Why bother to use the chrono if my MV calculator is just going to override that number anyway? I’m using a BC of .296. I see a lot of talk of tweaking the BC vs the MV but I’ve never felt smart enough to do that. Using the calculated MV I was consistently getting hits out to 1000 yards so in the end I suppose everything was lined up, but I just don’t like it when numbers don’t match.

I’m still learning my way through getting my inputs squared away knowing how each factor affects the others.

Aside from load development and getting data on a load’s SD, what ultimate purpose does a chronograph serve if I always true the MV in my kestrel to reality?

For example, I went to the range this weekend. I’m shooting factory loads, 6.5CM shooting a 140 ELD-M. My chrono gives an average of 2710 fps and my kestrel gave the solution of 8.55 MILs at 960 yards. However reality called for needing only ~8.4 MILs so the kestrel MV calculator changed the MV to 2747.