• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Winchester model 52 pre-A

Calfed

Private
Minuteman
Dec 3, 2009
I started shooting in a weekly .22 rifle match a few months ago and that led me to clean all the .22 rifles out of safe and look them over.

One is this Winchester model 52 pre-A. it has had some checkering added, a Lyman 48T sight mounted and the barrel cut to 24". These rifles were known to have an issue with cracking near the safety. I seem to have dodged the bullet on the "crack of doom".

A few pictures ...

PX9d5Uw.jpg

snYIa2l.jpg

5bk05Xg.jpg

EHepj2m.jpg

J4EZ5uD.jpg

I started shooting in a weekly .22 rifle match a few months ago and that led me to clean all the .22 rifles out of safe and look them over.

One is this Winchester model 52 pre-A. it has had some checkering added, a Lyman 48T sight mounted and the barrel cut to 24". These rifles were known to have an issue with cracking near the safety. I seem to have dodged the bullet on the "crack of doom".

A few pictures ...

PX9d5Uw.jpg

snYIa2l.jpg

5bk05Xg.jpg

EHepj2m.jpg

J4EZ5uD.jpg
Absolutely beautiful rifle!!
DW

Reactions: Calfed
Nice rifle!
I also have a '52 pre A with a serial number in the 23,000 range which was made sometime in 1934. I can't tell if yours has the speed lock or not.
Over on Rimfire Central they have a Win. 52 sub forum and I've learned a lot from them. If you haven't done so, you may give them a look. It's been a while since I was on that sight but they may have a link for a serial number look up.

Reactions: Calfed
Nice rifle!
I also have a '52 pre A with a serial number in the 23,000 range which was made sometime in 1934. I can't tell if yours has the speed lock or not.