• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6mm ARC Bolt Gun Loadings

67rschev

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 9, 2011
Colorado
I have finished a 6mm ARC bolt action, and there's not a whole lot of data out. . Been fooling with the 6 arc in first a 18 inch and then a 22 in semi for the last year, so I have some baseline and experience with loading the cartridge. Did a shake down was with 10 rounds factory 108 eldm, and then a first ladder that started with Varget and the ( GAP ) Hornady 109 ELDM. Ran the ladder from 26 to 28, with depth at .020 of the lands. Liking what I am seeing, but worried I may be a bit over pressure. Hornady lists 28.1 to be max with the 108 eldm, I'm at 28. Sure seems the loads listed through Hornady seem to be much higher than other loading resources, such as Hodgdon. Ran it through GRT, and the program estimates 65 k using the 110 Atip ( modified in weight ) as the projectile. Brass looks perfect, but this is my first experience with the Nucleus receiver having no plunger ejector. Also, primers look slightly dimples in from pin strike. GRT estimates 26 inch barrel at 2822 fps and i was at ~2750, which would be about perfect.

Any one any experience with said combo or close, or could run this through Quickload if they have the time. Thanks in advance

Last edited:
I started with the Bolt version first and now going to the Semi Auto route. In my Bolt gun: 24" Shaw 416R SS with 1-7 twist barrel. I found using H4895 for the 108 ELDM. Start at 26.6 and work up. Found a load (2770 fps with SD: 2.4) I found that H4895 for the heavier bullets worked better. Was not happy with Varget for the heavier bullets. Same results for the A-Tips.

Attachments

• 110 A-Tip dtd 3 March 2021.jpg
    110 A-Tip dtd 3 March 2021.jpg