A Lemon Story (Sabatti Rover Tactical)

leendertp

Private
Minuteman
Jul 4, 2021
The Mooooon
So, this is my first time in this situation and I don't really know what to do.

I have been very lucky I guess. Howas, tikkas, ruger; I have over the years had some really great inexpensive rifles that shot amazingly well.

2 years ago, my mom wanted to buy me a gun. She's a cool mom. It was admist shitty covid supply lines.

I gave some input but in the end she bought me a Sabatti Rover Tactical in 300WM.

We have a 500y range on the farm and 1000m like 5 mins drive away and theres endless open land just a bit further so I thought this would be a lot of fun. My goal was to set it up to shoot a mile.

The rifle shot terrible, whatever bullets, powders, ammo I tried, it didn't matter, it just shot terrible like 4MOA + terrible.

The stock it came was complete junk, so soft. So that was first to go. Custom McMillan A5, beddings, pillars, 3 gunsmiths, too many wasted components and even some broken rifling just inside the crown later, I think I've given up. I don't want to rebarrel it, it just feels like more waste at this point.

It was a gift for my mom so i wanted if to work, but I have spent much more than the $1000 she got the gun for on trying to get it to shoot.

It has a warranty, but that's effectively meaningless. I have done too much stuff to the gun so doubtless I'll be blamed and sending a gun to Italy and back, with export permits and such will take ages.

So after the long preamble, what do I do now? Feels wrong to sell it, and I don't think I'll get much for it. Or literally just drop it in the trash and move on. Leave it in the safe till it becomes my son's problem?

Bandit320

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Sep 1, 2018
Missouri
Tough call since your Mom gave it to you. I’d probably work on it. I have a Remington 783 that just shot okay. Put a prefit on it and it’s a fantastic shooter now. Not sure if yours will take prefits or not.

viking78

Private