• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision Advice re Sionyx Aurora Night Vision Camera

NewbieNewbie99

Private
Minuteman
Nov 10, 2020
Toronto
Greetings to all the experienced members here.

As a total newbie I was hoping to ask for some advice from all the experienced members here.

Does anyone perhaps know if the Sionyx Aurora has a zoom that will function maximally whilst driving in the bush? In other if it is on 3 x digital zoom while head mounted to a helmut while driving, then will it simply autofocus whilst maintaining the 3 x zoom? Or will it go back to 1xzoom. I know Samsung mobile phones go back to 1 x zoom whilst driving (it cant maintain the higher zoom whilst driving).

My understanding is that if people are using the Sionyx Aurora to navigate at night while on a boat, then it should have an autofocus? Is this correct?

May I ask one final question to the experienced members here. Regarding the 3x zoom of the Sionyx Aurora, whilst it is head mouted on a helmut whilst driving in the bush, does this 3 x zoom really make much of a difference in terms of bringing objects nearer during the day, compared to one's normal vision or does this 3 x digital zoom make no difference at all?

Would you estimate one could see 500 yards clearer on 3 x zoom when driving in the bush during the day or would you say the zoom is insignificant?

Many thanks to everyone and sincerely sorry for the long post (I just need to make sure about the above before I order it).

Thank you again.

Best regards

James