• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Aerodynamic jump question

checkmate101

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Dec 2, 2019
Not sure if this is the correct sub-forum to place this in, but here we go.

I am just getting into long(er) range shooting. Have been shooting rifles for decades, but mainly just hunting rifles with duplex reticles and Kentucky windage/elevation guesses. That said - I am loving the science of the longer range shooting. I read recently about aerodynamic jump/drag (AJ/D) and was wondering if it applied to a situation I had recently.

Hunting prairie dogs we mainly use a .17 hmr. 2 of the 3 days we hunted this year were extremely windy, 20-30 one day, 35-40 another. First day was pretty calm, maybe a 5-10 crosswind.

First day, the .17 was shooting POA/POI with the calm crosswind (generally a 90 degree wind, sometimes 3/4 value). In the high wind days we were seeing high left POI with a R->L wind and low right POI with a L->R wind.

I read this thread: https://www.snipershide.com/shootin...d-on-elevation-aerodynamic-jump-drag.6795073/
Generally seemed like AJ/D seemed like a minor factor, mainly to be ignored.

Finally to my question, with the terrible BC of the .17 hmr (we shoot 17g hornady vmax) and the extreme winds - would that be enough to account for AJ/D being what we were dealing with? Does a worse BC have any effect on increasing the effects of AJ/D? Also, as wind gets much higher I assume there would be a noticable increase in AJ/D? I am guessing it would be a linear increase? Guessing the above referenced thread is generally speaking about bullets with high BC so that it maybe diminishes the role to which AJ/D affects them.