• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Average group size for a .223 bolt gun?

KOPFJÄGER13

If people were half as good as they think..
Minuteman
Sep 11, 2018
I'm new to 223 bolt guns, can anyone tell me what kind of accuracy I can expect....what's good, average, poor, etc. ?

If I couldn’t get it to shoot 1/2 inch 5 shot groups at 100 with good ammo I would get rid of it. Tons of variables but with very little recoil and no know accuracy anomaly’s the largest factor for accuracy will be the shooter.

BDC7F532-91D8-4484-AD1B-666A93A92F88.jpeg

To throw my hat in, I just got done reviewing a Remington 783 Varmint in .223 and the aggregrate group size across 17 5-shot groups at 100 yards shooting factory ammo was 1.07". This was with a 26" 1:9 twist barrel shooting everything from 50 and 55 grain varmint bullets to 68 - 75 gr match bullets. The groups were shot over the course of an afternoon and the barrel was given little time to cool down between strings of fire. The rifle loved 69 gr match putting up the smallest 5-shot group of 9/16". Handloading would no doubt have reduced the group sizes significantly but for all practical purposes there wouldn't be a whole lot the rifle couldn't do.

Reactions: KOPFJÄGER13
You're the one who's supposed to provide that information with your otherwise open-ended stupid question.

Your getting smart-ass answers because you threw out there a lazy ass question with zero fucking context
It's a very open question, it was intended to be, to spark a more rounded conversation.... and as far as your tone and reply you can go fuck yourself!