• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ballistics calculators don't match real world observation

rrstein82

Private
Minuteman
Feb 10, 2021
Los Angeles
So I'm relatively new to long range shooting. I have a Springfield Waypoint in 6.5 CM, and shooting a hand load - Hornady 143 gr ELD-X with 41.5 grains of H4350 powder. The Hornady manual states muzzle velocity at 2750, and I've chrono'd it with a Magnetospeed v3 at ~2720. When I this load into any ballistic calculator (including my rangefinding binos), they all come out pretty close in terms of come up: ~4.0 MOA at 300 yards and ~6.7 MOA at 400 (just to give a couple examples). Problem is both times I've shot this week, those calculations are significantly off. At 300 yards I was missing a swinging target (12" steel plate) completely. I dropped down to a 3.0 MOA come up and didn't miss. I also got a target out at 300 yards and dialing 3.0 MOA, put 10 rounds in the 9 ring (about 8" in diameter on the target I was using). Tried at 400 and was missing another 12" steel target using the suggested elevation from ballistics software (6.7 MOA). Dropped to 5.5 and was spot on.

I feel like I must be doing something wrong, as I can't imagine every calculator is wrong. Thought that it might be the Magnetospeed and the FPS was way low; when I bump the muzzle velocity to 3000 FPS, the number the calculators give me are almost spot on to the DOPE I established when actually shooting. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Could be many things. First off, what calculator are you using? Things I would check first, make sure the scope height is correct, the BC is correct and and your environmentals are correct