• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Beginner long range shooter please help

futurerider103

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 22, 2011
Springfield Mo
Right now I'm only shooting at 200yds buy I want to stretch it out to 400yds. I'm looking into 3 different guns. Savage 110 tactical in either a .308 or .223 or CZ 527 varmint in .223. I'm leaning towards the .308 savage but if a get a .223 I can share ammo with my current SIG 556. I have a spare Nikon Buckmaster 6-18x40 for whichever I go with but what would your recommendations be. Either gun will be bought used to keep costs down.

Re: Beginner long range shooter please help

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: futurerider103</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Right now I'm only shooting at 200yds buy I want to stretch it out to 400yds. I'm looking into 3 different guns. Savage 110 tactical in either a .308 or .223 or CZ 527 varmint in .223. I'm leaning towards the .308 savage but if a get a .223 I can share ammo with my current SIG 556. I have a spare Nikon Buckmaster 6-18x40 for whichever I go with but what would your recommendations be. Either gun will be bought used to keep costs down.</div></div>

What precludes you from using the rifle you are shooting now?

I want a bolt action gun as well being the bolt action is going to be way more account than my SIG 556 at longer range. Btw I pick up my Savage 10fp in .308 on friday. It has only 30rnds through it and a trigger job and an aftermarket ckeek weld

Gear doesn't make a shooter... learning to apply the proper fundamentals is what makes a great shooter. Proper techniques can be applied to any weapon system...... bolt action, semi auto, or a belt fed machine gun.