• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best bullet for PRS-type shooting, 6mm GT, 7.5 twist

Rockchuckers are well known to be excellent presses

I have like 10K 109s on backorder, you should do the same. Also when they come in stock buy a few K. Not getting caught short handed is part of preparing for the sport.

I understand your point, but I didn't run out. I am just getting started, building a 6mm GT rifle (still waiting on my chassis, 8-12 weeks), and gathering what I need. Now it is time to pick the bullet, but it looks like picking Berger means no shooting until next winter, so I will have to go with something else in the meantime.

I already need to go with Hornady brass rather than Alpha, which is not in stock anywhere.

I really appreciate everybody's input. I am just hoping to learn from the experience of others and avoid any expensive or time wasting mistakes to the extent I can.

Just FYI - I followed your advice. I have backorders in for Alpha brass and for Berger LRHT bullets.

I did manage to find an 8 pound Varget jug at Powder Valley and ordered it.

Now I just need to figure out what I will use in the meantime - - - oh, and figure out how to reload, lol.

I will probably grab some of the commercially loaded 6mm GT at GA Precision to start out, and then use the brass from that for reloading. It is Hornady (brass and bullet, the new 109 ELD-M).

In the interim, until Bergers become available, I don't know what bullet I will be reloading with yet, but I will be reviewing this thread carefully before I make a choice. Thank you again to everybody for providing me with your information and experience.

@Malum Prohibitum