• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• The site has been updated!

If you notice any issues, please let us know below!

VIEW THREAD

Bullet and Case variances - Help for a newb?

Turk10mm

Private
Minuteman
Jul 1, 2008
Houston, Tx
To start with, I'm brand new to reloading. In fact, I haven't reloaded a single round yet. My last two shipments of gear arrive next week.

So anyways, years ago I saw a special on Army snipers, I believe, and they showed the armory guys reloading ammunition. They were weighing the cases and bullets and putting them into lots.

So, being the tedious and technical guy that I am I got my new Chargemaster 1500 and started doing something with it. I found that 200 rounds of Sierra 168gr BTHPs had a variance in weight of 6/10th of a grain. I had one bullet that fell out of this range, and it was 167.4.

167.8 15%
167.9 20%
168.0 35%
168.1 15%
168.2 10%
168.3 5%

I also am just finding out that the length of the bullets seem to vary between 1.202 and 1.207 with the median being 1.204

Is classifying these bullets by 1/10th of grain and length going to yield any difference in accuracy. I would think that it might. Probably not at 100 or even 200, but as you start getting further out I would think the variation would start to have an effect.

But then, I know absolutely nothing about this, other than it seems slight variations over long range would begin to show up.

If not, oh well, I wasted a couple hours tonight in front of the tv.

Any help here?

Tony

Re: Bullet and Case variances - Help for a newb?