• Site updates coming next Wednesday

    The site will be getting down for server maintenance next Wednesday starting at 8am CT. The site is expected to be down all day while we're doing site updates, so very sorry about the inconvenience and if you have any questions let me know!

    VIEW THREAD

Can't post long posts...

Cartman

Bird Dogging Expert
Full Member
Minuteman
May 5, 2007
1,389
11
NunYo SoCal
...without the line I'm working on flipping up and down so that I can't follow my typing.

I'm able to write maybe ten lines (including spaces) and then it wigs out.

Any ideas what's going on?
 

Rafael

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2003
2,270
17
58
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Re: Can't post long posts...

I have the same problem, but only when I edit a post larger than the edit window. It works fine when I type the original post.

I have no clue what is causing it, but I believe it started when I switched to IE8. Might help to look through the options in IE8.
 

Lindy

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Mar 26, 2003
4,006
6
Rifles Only
www.arcanamavens.com
Re: Can't post long posts...

I've had that problem with my HP G60 laptop, from the pressure of my palms affecting the scroll function of the touchpad. If you're using a laptop, that may be the problem, and the simple solution is to turn the touchpad off.
 

Boomholzer

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jul 8, 2002
632
1
Midwest
Re: Can't post long posts...

I hate that thing (touchpad) on my Dell "Attitude" for stated reason but never got proficient with the little joyknub in the middle.
 

Shady_Jay

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 3, 2006
3,073
4
46
Re: Can't post long posts...

You know you can get a $5 mouse that plugs in the USB port, right?

 

Shady_Jay

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jan 3, 2006
3,073
4
46
Re: Can't post long posts...

I built a TV dinner tray in my wood shop once cause... I don't know why - I just got drunk and the next morning I had made one.

Anyway, the laptop fits right in it with a mouse pad beside it and the dowel rods keep it from overheating. I'll sell you mine for $200.
 

Boomholzer

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jul 8, 2002
632
1
Midwest
Re: Can't post long posts...

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I don't know why - I just got drunk and the next morning I had made one. </div></div>
I know a few people who told me about that same phenomenon with children.

$200 should come with free cable TV and installation.
 

Cartman

Bird Dogging Expert
Full Member
Minuteman
May 5, 2007
1,389
11
NunYo SoCal
Re: Can't post long posts...

I don't think it is the touchpad, but I'll look into that.

It started right after the Hide's last software update but I'm only now posting about it. I'm not sure when I upgraded (I should put that word in quotes) to IE8, but it could have been around the same time.

 

Rafael

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2003
2,270
17
58
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Re: Can't post long posts...

Try turning on "Compatibility View" in IE8.
It is in "Tools".
If this works, click on "tools" and "Compatibility Tools Setting" while viewing this site and add it to the list.
This will make IE8 use this mode whenever you bring up SH. This way you don't have to leave it permanently in that mode.

The quirk has to do with whether or not your mouse cursor is above or below the text window, Compatibility View disables the quirk.
It is working for me at the moment anyway.
 

Just Me

Full Member
Full Member
Minuteman
Aug 16, 2005
41
0
Sacramento
Re: Can't post long posts...

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BALLISTIC</div><div class="ubbcode-body">IE sucks, Getfirefox.com and be happy. </div></div>

HAHA, No Get IE8 and be happy. FF was kicking IE's butt until IE7 came out, now we have a much better and very standards compliant IE8.

I've never had any issues with SH on IE 7 or 8.
 

StrikeHold

Private
Minuteman
May 2, 2008
64
0
Re: Can't post long posts...

Why would one who uses FF now (because IE has sucked for so long) switch to IE 7 or 8? Just because MS says its better?

I'll wait until FF starts sucking before I even think about switching to a Microsoft browser.

I have nothing against Microsoft, but I have had real problems with IE and malware. Since I started using FF, I have not had any problems.
 

Rafael

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2003
2,270
17
58
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Re: Can't post long posts...

Cured, at least on my end.
I noticed the problem most on my home PC and turning on Compatibility Mode for this site fixed the problem.
Just to be sure, I switched it off again and the problem reappeared.
 

JRose

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jul 10, 2007
3,299
5
44
Back in BHam!!!
Re: Can't post long posts...

Here's the fix...

macbook_pro.jpg

 

JRose

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Jul 10, 2007
3,299
5
44
Back in BHam!!!
Re: Can't post long posts...

Come to the dark side brother... I started using Macs 4 years ago, and have yet to be cursed with any of these kind of issues since.

Also don't get pop-ups anymore, and that's saying something seeing as I frequent porn sites
grin.gif
 

Rafael

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2003
2,270
17
58
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Re: Can't post long posts...

I have not seen a popup in a while, but then I don't normally go to those sites.....but I do enjoy the content when I do.
laugh.gif


I know more people, outside of cyberspace, who have moved to PC's from Mac's than the inverse.

Just like you, I hear lots of complaints about problems like these, but normally they are minor issues that can be cured with a bit of thought or learning the software.
The other major complaint is hardware/software compatibility.
Given that Apple is the only producer of Mac's, I should hope they could turn out a system without issues like this. The fact that everybody produces PC components means these problems are more common, but that PC prices are normally cheaper and parts are easier to come by and more diverse. There are trade-offs on both sides.

I hear people bash Vista constantly, but I have been running it for 2.5 years without a problem. Vista is better than XP as XP was better than 98se, and 98se was to 95, and so on. I take most Microsoft bashing with a grain of salt because I see most complaints as just a lack of understanding....and each new OS brings this problem back to the surface.

You should probably keep your preference for Mac's a secret for now. If they ever become as prevalent as PC's, the viruses, popups, and other outside forces will appear in numbers equal to those on PC's. Obscurity is your ally, for now.
laugh.gif
 

Lindy

Gunny Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Mar 26, 2003
4,006
6
Rifles Only
www.arcanamavens.com
Re: Can't post long posts...

I have a friend who, like me, has been using personal computers since we had to build our first ones. Unlike me, he has extensive experience with Macs.

Here's what he says about the Mac vs. Microsoft issue:

A Microsoft O.S. can be be made to do anything - but something not standard may be difficult. With a Mac, what you want to do is either very simple or impossible.
 

riverguide2001

Sergeant
Full Member
Minuteman
Re: Can't post long posts...

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rafael</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Not you too, JRose?!
LL and yourself.....who else has been infected with this?
laugh.gif


You all are dead to me.
laugh.gif


</div></div>

I'm drinking the koolaid, too...