• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

F T/R Competition F-TR .308 Win Velocity

lead.rain

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Feb 2, 2020
Canada
I appreciate there is a myriad of factors that will affect velocity and everyone will experience something different. With that said, I have heard a few competitors mention certain "targeted muzzle velocities" for some F-Open calibers. As I am just getting into F-TR, I was curious if there is a "targeted muzzle velocity" for .308 Win? The general answer would be "whatever keeps it supersonic to 1000", but was just curious if there is a rule of thumb?

Thanks.

Well, for starters it depends on what bullet you plan on running. Most of the common powders - N140, N150, H4895, Varget, etc. will work across the entire range of bullet weights below.

From there...

155s in general run really well pretty much anywhere from 2900 fps on up. 2950-3050 seems to be the traditional sweet spot.

185 Juggernaut... 2700+ works well for a lot of people; the US FTR team loads in 2013 were in the 2750-2775 range. Some people push them to 2800+, and there are some accurate nodes up there, but I'm not sure the brass life is going to be all that great, even with SRP cases.

200 H / 200.20X... there are a number of 'sweet spots' that work. Seems to depend on what your barrel likes. 2620-2640 is one, 2650-2670 is another... and in theory there is an OCW node just past 2700 but getting there without wrecking brass is tough. In my opinion you're probably better off going with the lower node at around 2620-2630-ish, and have your brass last longer and give yourself a little bit of a buffer as the weather warms up.