• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

F-TR build suggestions?

Tgwhitley

Private
Minuteman
Sep 26, 2021
Would like to build a 308 FTR budget is concern but not overriding factor. Suggestions appreciated on all components for rifle no glass at this time please.
If someone can point me to link that would be great, did quick search and found no information specific to my request. I am not experienced using this site.

Thank you
Tim

Hey Tim,

I'd suggest looking at the Berger SWN equipment lists for the past 3-4 years. I can save you some time though..

Action: Borden BRM or Kelbly Panda F-Class
Barrels: 29-31" finished length, 1:10 twist , Kreiger/Bart/Brux in a HV contour.
Trigger: Jewell, Bix, or Flavio down around 2-4oz
Stock: McMillan XITs, Master Class Stocks, Kelbly, something else custom? I'd push you towards an XIT with a RAD 2A personally. Mine don't have much recoil at all with the RAD, meanwhile it's a 308 shooting a 200gr bullet like 3-4gr over book max.
Bipod: Joypod or Phoenix
Reamer: A SAMMI .308 win with a .170-.180fb and a .342 neck is what you want for the 20x with unturned palma brass. 1 deg 30. Get it from JGS.
Rings: I like the NF Ti rings

Reloading Gear:
It matters in F-Class...a lot more than PRS if that's what you're coming from.
Bullets: Just shoot the 20x, don't even try anything else. Nothing is as good at 1k. Closer in you can get away with 185 jugs, but 20Xs are still the gold standard.
Powders: Varget or N150
Sizers: Doesn't matter the brand. FL bushing. Many National championships won with off the shelf dies/bushings. I use custom Whidden dies, but they don't shoot any different than a box stock redding or the like.