• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Getting paid to shoot?

BLAKSUNZ

Private
Minuteman
Jul 20, 2011
Oxford, MS
What kind of jobs would pay you to shoot or be proficient with a firearm? Obviously there is LE and MIL but there must be some more out of the box thinking. Just trying to get some ideas about what I want to do. Still can find an engineering job...maybe it's a sign to do what I love for a living.

Re: Getting paid to shoot?

I would say you need to be a competitor in competitions such as rifle, pistol, shotgun, or 3 Gun. AND BE EXCEPTIONALLY GOOD to be noticed by the firearms industry or other sponsors.

Now I have no experience with that. I was Artillery in the Army. I was paid to manually compute gunnery solutions very fast and accurate. We also used computers which are retarded. Give me a jump board and range deflection protractor and I was faster an more accurate than a computer. We also trained quite a bit in MOUNT, Battle drill 6, and marksmen training. We were paid for that, not much but paid.

As for getting paid to shoot... Follow your dreams, But realize sometimes there just dreams. So be realistic. If you are already a superb shot and a competitor and place within the top tier in any national comps I would say just keep trying. But for average joe blow that just wants to shoot and get paid? Get real.. Join the service or LE

I don't mean to be disrespectful but there are probably very few jobs that pay you to shoot. Its more of who you know type of thing. Have you google'd it? I did and there is a lot of nonsense that comes up. The legitimate stuff, you need experience and training, ie LE, and Military.