• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Giraud Vs Dillon RT1500

brennon272

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
Mar 11, 2014
Hello,

Currently I am new to reloading and trying to learn how to trim. I bought a honey badger setup and then was told you need a lathe to set it up so back in the box that went and then I bought an rt1500. I’m sure it is something I am doing but I cannot get consistency (yes the lock rings are tight) out of this thing to save my life. For example, .223 trim length is 1.75 inches. I can’t get to 1.75 for anything. Either slightly over or slightly under. I opted for slightly over at 1.7510 but in a small batch of 200 pieces all in a single run some come out 1.7510 some 1.7505 some 1.7515 and others 1.752+. Of course I discovered this after purchasing numerous trim dies. At this point, I am over $1000 dollars into just this trimming rabbit hole and am considering spending more on a giraud and selling the other two off. Even if I could get the Dillon to work, I hate having to run a vacuum cleaner. I am most concerned about being able to set something up easily since I am a beginner and it being repeatable and accurate. I have no idea if the variance I have is an issue but inconsistency is inconsistency. I am really just looking for something that’s reasonably fast and will do the job at this point as I’ve yet to successfully load my first round of ammo on my new Dillon xl750. I don’t want something I’m going to have to mess with for 1-2 hours like this Dillon setup I have. It’s such a pain for me at least. If giraud users (or Dillon) could chime in on what would be a good fit that would be great. I already know it’s a quality product.