• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Indoor rifle training ideas - Dry fire, airguns, etc.

juha_teuvonnen

Private
Minuteman
Sep 27, 2013
I live in snow country, which is not particularly conducive to outdoor training in winter months. To add insult to injury the town I live in bans shooting on one's property. Additionally the town explicitly bans airgun shooting on one's property. For all the above reasons I am stuck practicing indoors. I want to practice fundamentals of marksmanship. Currently I am thinking about shooting some kind of airgun indoors and dry firing my centerfire rifle. I know that there are a bunch of dry fire training devices available, like Mantis X elite, Noptel, Scatt, Rika and probably others. I have no experience with any of these devices, and I don't understand what benefits they offer, how they are different from each other and whether they are needed at all. Any pointers to where I would be able to educate myself on the pros and cons of the above devices and other indoor training ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Probably not a feasible option for everyone, but I grew up with a 10m air rifle range in my grandpa's basement. It was awesome, especially in the winter with the woodstove going. All shooting was offhand. Backstop was just some layers of carpet hung on the wall. Good times.

Reactions: juha_teuvonnen
Juha, where are you located? As the town might not have any legal power to make rules that are actually legally bounding. The rules might just be "for guidance"

I have Scatt and also have used Mantis X.
They are quite different, but for PRS training and target shooting I recommend Mantis. Mantis also has interesting training courses or paths.